Are ethical behaviors and practices natural or related to our education?

While exploring the chapter on Listening as a Best Practice in Engineering and Science for our class Engineering Ethics and the Public, something capture my attention and since then I cannot stop thinking about it. It was when the professor asked questions like “what would you do if your boss ask you to do unethical things such as not revealing results that he/she doesn’t really want the public to be aware of?” What if revealing such findings can cost your job while you have family to feed or will have a hard time to find another job?

I was shocked when hearing some arguing that they will do what their boss asks them to do in this case. What in the world would bring somebody to do something (such as allowing high lead content in water) that can harm others to preserve his/her job or for the welfare of his/her family? Sometimes I wonder if people realize that something can happen in just one minute and cost one`s life.  What if one dies before the getting his next paycheck? What if your family perishes in an accident? Look at how sudden and devastating natural catastrophes such as hurricanes are. Do they give us time to think or take care of ourselves? Absolutely not. Therefore, there is no need to care too much about tomorrow and put innocent life in danger as the future is uncertain. There are no excuses for somebody having this kind of consideration. He/she should be taken accountable for his wrong doing just as somebody hiding or discarding some sample results just to help or please his/her boss or friends.  Life is too short to be egoistic or let people have leverage on us. As engineers and scientists, the amount of responsibilities we have regarding the safety, health and well-being of our communities require more than caring about just one or a small group of individuals who just care about their own personal positions or interests. In my opinion we must manage our lives in a way that can help us stay authentic, able to resist pressures and to listen to ourselves in order to keep our integrity and ultimately society’s integrity. I truly believe that one cannot suffer, get harmed or exposed to problems while just doing the right thing. I am saying this because I have experienced being fired because of my refusal to do unethical practices while working as an intern in a quality control lab and since then, I am moving forward in life not backward. After I left there I was able to finish my engineering degree with success, get another internship and from there get a scholarship to study abroad, and today doing my PhD.

At the time I was making the decision to do the right thing, I did not learn about ethics in a classroom or though seminar or conferences. That is why, when some argue that they will obey their boss at the work place while taking class in ethical behavior, I was comfortable with my thoughts; ethic is not only learned in a classroom but mainly in the influence our environment has on us in our early childhood. I think the education our families gave to us and our personal faith are the key elements that can bring us to listen to ourselves and do the right thing. I was taught to tell the truth and always do tasks well and with passion, in any circumstance. For me it is like if I am in any occasion hearing the voice of the “Teacher Within” that Parker Palmer has described in his book entitled: The Courage To Teach. by saying: “Any authentic call ultimately comes from the voice of the teacher within, the voice that invites me to honor the nature of my true self”.

We should be always animated by the sentiment or a need to be ourselves and listen to our heart. One must be free; freedom has no cost and helps us to stay authentic, make wise decision and do the best we can for our community. It is immoral to harm other people while pursuing our own pleasure, luxury or welfare.

 

One thought on “Are ethical behaviors and practices natural or related to our education?”

  1. Your post was very refreshing to read, I have similar sentiments. I was taught to tell the truth, not to steal, do no harm to others by making sure you are aware of how your actions affect others. I believe these are behaviors that a morally taught to you from birth and then we learn how to adapt those teachings to interacting with others over time. The way my faith (Christianity) and mentorship has taught me to handle these scenarios (like doing something unethical for your boss or lying to masses to save yourself and family) that inherently put you in bondage (or puts your back against the wall) is to do the right thing and tell the truth (it is the only way out). Freedom only costs you the company and amenities that you acquired while you were in bondage (in this case stuck at that job), there is always a silver lining on the other side.

    I had an experience where I found out someone was forging data and I reported it to my supervisor at an internship. When he did not do anything I was uncomfortable, this made me consult with my mentor and he told me that he (my supervisor) probably didn’t want the drama that would come from exposing it because the people who work for him already don’t like him. I was mind blown because all the company talks about is honesty and integrity. I wrote up the report exposing the fraudulent data and how you could find it and saved it on my computer, I completed the internship and refused to come back. I didn’t want to be in an environment where that was remotely okay. They did not have to fire whoever forged it they could have just let them know they got caught and they do not need to do that again or they will be terminated. I just wanted them to say something, anything. They did nothing. My inner teacher speaks very loud and very clear as it rehearses lessons from all the mentors I had growing up. I would rather lose everything than harm others, my family will be fine no matter how it disrupts my financial situation. Good people develop networks of people who do the right thing and they will support me and applaud me for sacrificing for the good of others.

    To answer your question: Are ethical behaviors and practices natural or related to our education?

    Ethics is not natural it is something you learn from society and professional contexts, but morals are engrained in who you are, how you were raised, and what you believe. I think we have to channel our morals more when faced with ethical situations. Morals are more standard and considerate: You will not see parents teach their kids to steal from other kids or not to share with others or purposely disrespect others or blatantly lie to save yourself. I can’t say you never see parents do this because there are some parents that are not very good, but most have universal values that they teach their kids. We just happen to forget them over time as we advance through adulthood.

    Like

Leave a comment